mobile menu Navigation


ECDL IT Applications Skills                                                                       Level 2   Qualification                       

    Course Content


The BCS ECDL IT Application Skills qualification is a fixed selection of four level 2 application units developed by e-Skills, the sector skills council for IT and Telecoms. All BCS qualifications are subject to our quality assurance and validation process to ensure that new and revised qualifications are fit for purpose. Qualifications are reviewed to ensure the alignment of the qualification with agreed design principles, regulatory requirements and to ensure accuracy and consistency across units and qualifications. Through our quality assurance and validation process, we ensure the qualification, its units and assessments, are fit for purpose and can be delivered efficiently and reasonably by centres.


    Structure of the qualification


The BCS ECDL IT Application Skills qualification structure is shown below. This structure meets the requirements for a Level 2 Certificate in terms of the number of guided learning hours and credits from level 2 units; it includes the Improving Productivity using IT unit at level 2; and meets the required rule of combination.


    Mandatory Units


    Word Processing


Develops the learner’s ability to create word-processed documents: entering text, editing and formatting work, using graphs, tables and pictures for a professional finish, and effectively using tools such as the spell-checker and mail merge


    Spreadsheet Software


Helps the learner develop a working knowledge of spreadsheets, from entering data and formatting worksheets, to creating charts and producing high-quality documents.


    Presentation Software


Shows the learner how to produce high-quality presentations, using a variety of tools including charts, graphs and drawn objects.


    Improving Productivity using IT


Enables the learner to work more effectively with IT. This unit looks at using tools to save time and effort when producing word processed documents, presentations and spreadsheets.


    More than just a Course


This qualification is recognised by a large number of British and European organisations, who train their employees to acquire the ECDL qualification.


Examples of U.K. organisations that have used ECDL are:


National Health Service

Ministry Of Defence



Cadbury Schweppes

Barclays Bank

Colleges and Universities


The course will be the BCS (British Computer Society’s) ECDL IT Applications Skills, which is a full level 2 ITQ qualification which equates to a grades A*-C GCSE.

ECDL IT Applications Skills provides the student with the skills required to use standard computer applications such as word processing, spread sheets and presentation software, so that users become intuitive in their use. They will also be much more aware of the safety aspects of computing, for example learning about health and safety, computer misuse and data protection.

The units ensure that they have a wide range of skills. The Productivity Using IT unit ensures that the user learns the most effective and efficient ways to use the software.


The ECDL IT Applications Skills units are:


Word processing

Spread sheets


Improving Productivity Using IT


    How am I graded 


Distinction*, Distinction, Merit, Pass are equivalent to GCSE Grades A*-C